Horror Writers Association
Email us.
Slasher TV
HWA on Instagram
Visit Us
Follow Me

HWA History


The HWA was formed in the 1980’s with the help of Joe and Karen Lansdale and saw a period of professionalization and growth under the leadership of some of the horror genre’s luminaries including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe Lansdale.

Today we have over 2,400 members in countries such as Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Denmark, Germany, Honduras, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Russia, Singapore, Spain, South Africa, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad, United Kingdom and the United States.

The HWA is the oldest and most respected professional organization for the much-loved writers who have brought you the most-enjoyable sleepless nights of your life.

Further Reading:


  • John Edward Lawson: 2022-present
  • John Palisano: 2019-2022
  • Lisa Morton: 2014-2019
  • Rocky Wood: 2010-2014
  • Deborah LeBlanc: 2006-2010
  • Gary Braunbeck: 2005-2006
  • Joseph Nassise: 2002-2005
  • David Niall Wilson: 2001-2002
  • Richard Laymon: 2000-2001
  • S.P. Somtow: 1998-2000
  • Janet Berliner: 1997-1998
  • Brian Lumley: 1996-1997
  • Lawrence Watt-Evans: 1994-1996
  • Dennis Etchison: 1992-1994
  • Craig Shaw Gardner: 1990-1992
  • Chelsea Quinn Yarbro: 1988-1990
  • Charles L. Grant: 1987-1988
  • Dean R. Koontz: 1986-1987

All photographs in these articles were provided courtesy of Hunter Goatley at www.robertmccammon.com. Copyright © by Hunter Goatley. Used with Permission.

Comments are closed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial