Horror Writers Association

Contact HWA


Snail Mail

Horror Writers Association
P.O. Box #14387
Columbus, OH 43214

All inquiries must be accompanied by a self-addressed stamped envelope for response.

General E-mail

For any HWA-related question. If you don’t know where else to ask, ask here: admin@horror.org. Please note: due to increasing levels of spam throughout the Internet, any emails with a blank subject line will be deleted unread.

General Technical Support

If you need technical assistance with the website, please contact webmaster@horror.org.

HWA Officers

PresidentJohn Edward Lawson

While John Edward Lawson has been called “the forgotten black man of horror,” he also regularly publishes science fiction, nonfiction, and literary fiction. His work has been nominated for the Dwarf Stars, Rhysling, Stoker, and Wonderland awards in addition to the Pushcart Prize. For his work as an editor, John received the 2018 HWA Specialty Press Award. He currently serves as President of the Horror Writers Association.

Vice President – Meghan Arcuri

Meghan Arcuri is a Bram Stoker Award®-nominated author. Her work can be found in various anthologies, including Borderlands 7 (Borderlands Press), Madhouse (Dark Regions Press), Chiral Mad, and Chiral Mad 3 (Written Backwards). She is currently the Vice President of the Horror Writers Association and is the recipient of the 2022 Richard Laymon President’s Award.

She recently made her first foray into children’s literature with her non-horror picture book, Milk the Cat (art by Ogmios).

Prior to writing, she taught high school math, having earned her B.A. from Colgate University—with a double major in mathematics and English—and her masters from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

She lives with her family in New York’s Hudson Valley. Please visit her at facebook.com/meg.arcuri or on Twitter (@MeghanArcuri).

SecretaryBecky Spratford

Becky Spratford is a Readers’ Advisory Librarian in Illinois specializing in serving leisure reading patrons ages 13 and up. She trains library staff all over the world on how to match books with readers through the local public library. She runs the critically acclaimed RA training blog RA for All, and it’s evil twin, RA for All: Horror. She is on the Steering Committee of the Adult Reading Round Table and is under contract to provide content for EBSCO’s NoveList database, reviews for Booklist and articles and columns for Library Journal. Becky specializes in helping libraries work with horror books and readers as the author of The Reader’s Advisory Guide to Horror, Second Edition (ALA Editions, 2012). As the public library world’s most visible horror expert, Becky has been profiled in the Chicago Tribune, appeared on Wisconsin Public Radio, and recorded numerous podcasts all in an effort to make sure libraries don’t forget about horror as they develop their collections, craft displays, and work with patrons. Becky was invited as a special guest at StokerCon 2017 for her contribution to the genre, and has run the annual StokerCon Librarian’s Day of programming since 2018. You can interact with Becky on Twitter @RAforAll.

TreasurerMichael Knost

Michael Knost is a Bram Stoker Award®-winning editor and author of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and supernatural thrillers. He has written in various genres and helmed multiple anthologies. He received the Horror Writers Association’s Silver Hammer Award in 2015 for his work as the organization’s mentorship chair. He also received the prestigious J.U.G. (Just Uncommonly Good) Award from West Virginia Writer’s Inc. His Return of the Mothman is currently being filmed as a movie adaption. He has taught writing classes and workshops at several colleges, conventions, online, and currently resides in Chapmanville, West Virginia with his wife, daughter, and a zombie goldfish.

HWA Board of Trustees

Linda Addison
James Chambers
Ellen Datlow
Angela Yuriko Smith
Lisa Kröger
Brian Matthews
Gabino Iglesias

Bram Stoker Award® Officials

Chair James Chambers

Other HWA Officials and Staff

Executive Director Maxwell I. Gold
Newsletter Editor Kathryn Ptacek
Quick Bites Editor Meghan Arcuri
Membership Chair Roni Stinger
Social Media Coordinator Sumiko Saulson
Volunteer Coordinator Lila Denning
Webmaster Angel Leigh McCoy

— Report website problems.

HWA’s Agent

HWA’s literary projects are represented by Alec Shane at Writers House.

Comments are closed.

Get a few quick bites from the HWA
(delivered straight to your inbox):

Receive regular updates on our members' new releases, event announcements so you can meet your current and future Horror idols, and much more, just for Horror fans.

(Non-members are especially tasty welcome!)

Close Box

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial