Horror Writers Association Blog

Haunted Library of Horror Classics

Haunted Library of Horror Classics

Darren Shan Interviewed by Dave Jeffery

Darren Shan Interviewed by Dave Jeffery

Scary Out There with Sarah Rees Brennan

Scary Out There with Sarah Rees Brennan


Recent Posts

The Seers’ Table April 2021

The Seers Table!

The Seers Table

Kate Maruyama, Member of the Diverse Works Inclusion Community

Linda Addison recommends:

Jacqueline Dyre is the editor and publisher of Novel Noctule. You can find them in the sunshine state, drinking poorly-made coffee and consuming psychological horror in lieu of meals. They are one of the recipients of the 2020 HWA Diversity Grants.

Novel Noctule is an online, monthly independent fiction magazine dedicated to intellectual and new weird horror; they use horror to shed light on the human condition. Issues contain two or three original stories, poetry, artwork, creator spotlights, and


The Horror Writers Association (HWA) is committed to recognizing and proliferating non-fiction and academic writing that seeks to expand the understanding of all facets of the horror genre. From horror film studies to close textual analysis of gothic poetry and all mediums in between, expanding horror discourse is a critical element to the genre as a whole. HWA contributes to the horror scholar discourse in a variety of ways.

Ann Radcliffe Academic Conference

Debuting at the 2017 StokerCon in Long Beach, the Ann Radcliffe Academic Conference (AnnRadCon) was created by Michele Brittany and Nicholas Diak to provide a venue for …

Announcing JG Faherty as Our New Mentorshp Program Manager

After four years at the helm, Brian J. Hatcher is stepping down as Program Manager for the HWA’s Mentorship Program.

Under Brian’s leadership, the Mentor Program experienced tremendous growth and saw major improvements in scheduling and quality despite the increase in participants each year. Brian will be focusing once more on his own creative endeavors, including writing and editing, and the Board wishes him continued success.

JG Faherty, who has served as the Assistant Manager of the Mentorship Program since 2019, will be taking over management of the program. JG has been a mentor since 2011, and received the Mentor …

The Seers’ Table March 2021

The Seers Table

Linda D. Addison, Member of the Diverse Works Inclusion Community

You can see any of The Seers’ Table posts since inception (March 2016) from the menu item “Diverse Works” on top of the HWA main page.

Kate Jonez introduces:

David R. Slayton grew up in Guthrie, Oklahoma, where finding fantasy novels was pretty challenging and finding fantasy novels with diverse characters was downright impossible. Now he lives in Denver, Colorado and writes the books he always wanted to read.

Recommended: White Trash Warlock. Not all magicians go to schools of magic.

Adam Binder has the Sight. It’s a power …

2020 Bram Stoker Awards® Final Ballot Announced

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) is pleased to announce the Final Ballot for the 2020 Bram Stoker Awards®. The HWA is the premier writers organization in the horror and dark fiction genre, with more than 1,700 members. We have presented the Bram Stoker Awards in various categories since 1987.

Works on this ballot may be referred to as “nominees,” “finalists,” or “nominated works,” and their authors as “finalists.” If your work appears on this ballot, please e-mail your preferred mailing address to stokerchair@horror.org by March 1 to assist in the preparation and mailing of your Bram Stoker Awards Finalist certificate.…

StokerCon™ 2021 Special Announcement

The Horror Writers Association has made the difficult decision to shift StokerCon™ 2021 from an in-person event to a virtual platform during its originally scheduled May 20 to 23 dates. With the ongoing pandemic, the emergence of viral variants, and the broad range of travel obstacles around the world, we have deemed this to be the safest, most responsible way to hold the event.

As might be expected with an event of this size, switching to a virtual footing poses many challenges, but Con co-chairs, James Chambers and Brian Matthews; HWA President, John Palisano; Vice President, Meghan Arcuri; Administrator, Brad …

Females of Fright, Zoom Edition!

In celebration of Women in Horror Month, please join us for two evenings of conversation, Q&A, and fun with members of the HWA. It’s live … and it’s free!

The Seers’ Table February 2021

The Seers Table

Kate Maruyama, Member of the Diverse Works Inclusion Community

Theresa Derwin recommends:

Azaaa Davis is an International Bestselling American author of urban fantasy and paranormal romance novels.

She fell in love with reading as a high school freshman and continues to read, write, and draw today. Her background in social work helps her portray realistic characters in otherworldly—and sometimes terrifying—situations. A New York native, Azaaa currently lives in New Hampshire (USA) with her husband and daughters.

Azaaa is working diligently to finish writing more fantasy novels while raising her daughters. Thank you for showing an

“Mastering Your Pitch” Workshops
   Free for HWA Members Only

We’ve partnered with Roadmap Authors to offer our members a series of free workshops. “Mastering Your Pitch” will be hosted by prominent literary agencies. You must be a member in good standing to sign up and participate.

The workshop series will include the following:

    Pitch Prep with Cate Hart, Agent at Harvey Kingler Agency

    In this 2-hour pitch prep session, Cate will discuss her do’s and don’ts for pitching. After her lecture, volunteers can practice their pitch with Cate for feedback in a roundtable setting.

Query Clinic with Agent Mark Gottlieb from Trident Media Group

    In this 2 hour Query

Get a few quick bites from the HWA
(delivered straight to your inbox):

Receive regular updates on our members' new releases, event announcements so you can meet your current and future Horror idols, and much more, just for Horror fans.

(Non-members are especially tasty welcome!)

Close Box

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial