Horror Writers Association
Email us.
Slasher TV
HWA on Instagram
Visit Us
Follow Me

2015 Bram Stoker Awards® Winners


The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy, tonight announced this year’s Bram Stoker Award® winners during a ceremony held as part of StokerCon 2016 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

Winner: Paul Tremblay – A Head Full of Ghosts (William Morrow)

Also nominated:

      Clive Barker – The Scarlet Gospels (St. Martin’s Press)
      Michaelbrent Collings – The Deep (self-published)
      JG Faherty – The Cure (Samhain Publishing)
      Patrick Freivald – Black Tide (JournalStone Publishing)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Winner: Nicole Cushing – Mr. Suicide (Word Horde)

Also nominated:

      Courtney Alameda – Shutter (Feiwel & Friends)
      Brian Kirk – We Are Monsters (Samhain Publishing)
      John McIlveen – Hannahwhere (Crossroad Press)
      John Claude Smith – Riding the Centipede (Omnium Gatherum)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

Winner: John Dixon – Devil’s Pocket (Simon & Schuster)

Also nominated:

      Jennifer Brozek – Never Let Me Sleep (Permuted Press)
      Michaelbrent Collings – The Ridealong (self-published)
      Tonya Hurley – Hallowed (Simon & Schuster)
      Maureen Johnson – The Shadow Cabinet (Penguin)
      Ian Welke – End Times at Ridgemont High (Omnium Gatherum)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

Winner: Sam Weller, Mort Castle, Chris Ryall, & Carlos Guzman (editors) – Shadow Show: Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury (IDW Publishing)

Also nominated:

      Cullen Bunn – Harrow County, Vol. 1: Countless Haints (Dark Horse Comics)
      Victor Gischler – Hellbound (Dark Horse Books)
      Robert Kirkman – Outcast, Vol. 1: A Darkness Surrounds Him (Image Comics)
      Scott Snyder – Wytches, Vol. 1 (Image Comics)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

Winner: Mercedes M. Yardley – Little Dead Red (Grimm Mistresses) (Ragnarok Publications)

Also nominated:

      Gary A. Braunbeck – Paper Cuts (Seize the Night) (Gallery Books)
      Lisa Mannetti – The Box Jumper (Smart Rhino Publications)
      Norman Partridge – Special Collections (The Library of the Dead) (Written Backwards)
      Scott Edelman – Becoming Invisible, Becoming Seen (Dark Discoveries #30)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

Winner: John Palisano – Happy Joe’s Rest Stop (18 Wheels of Horror) (Big Time Books)

Also nominated:

      Kate Jonez – All the Day You’ll Have Good Luck (Black Static #47)
      Gene O’Neill – The Algernon Effect (White Noise Press)
      Damien Angelica Walters – Sing Me Your Scars (Sing Me Your Scars) (Apex Publications)
      Alyssa Wong – Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers (Nightmare Magazine #37)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

Winner: David Robert Mitchell – It Follows (Northern Lights Films)

Also nominated:

      Guillermo del Toro & Matthew Robbins – Crimson Peak (Legendary Pictures)
      John Logan – Penny Dreadful: And Hell Itself My Only Foe (Showtime)
      John Logan – Penny Dreadful: Nightcomers (Showtime)
      Taika Waititi & Jemaine Clement – What We Do in the Shadows (Unison Films)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

Winner: Michael Bailey – The Library of the Dead (Written Backwards)

Also nominated:

      Ellen Datlow – The Doll Collection: Seventeen Brand-New Tales of Dolls (Tor Books)
      Christopher Golden – Seize the Night (Gallery Books)
      Nancy Kilpatrick and Caro Soles – nEvermore! (Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing)
      Jonathan Maberry – The X-Files: Trust No One (IDW Publishing)
      Joseph Nassise and Del Howison – Midian Unmade (Tor Books)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

Winner: Lucy A. Snyder – While the Black Stars Burn (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Also nominated:

      Gary A. Braunbeck – Halfway Down the Stairs (JournalStone Publishing)
      Nicole Cushing – The Mirrors (Cycatrix Press)
      Taylor Grant – The Dark at the End of the Tunnel (Cemetery Dance Publications)
      Gene O’Neill – The Hitchhiking Effect (Dark Renaissance Books)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

Winner: Stephen Jones – The Art of Horror (Applause Theatre & Cinema Books)

Also nominated:

      Justin Everett and Jeffrey H. Shanks (ed.) – The Unique Legacy of Weird Tales: The Evolution of Modern Fantasy and Horror (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers)
      Michael Knost – Author’s Guide to Marketing with Teeth (Seventh Star Press)
      Joe Mynhardt & Emma Audsley (editors) – Horror 201: The Silver Scream (Crystal Lake Publishing)
      Danel Olson – Studies in the Horror Film: Stanley Kubrick’s The Shining (Centipede Press)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

Winner: Alessandro Manzetti – Eden Underground (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Also nominated:

      Bruce Boston – Resonance Dark and Light (Eldritch Press)
      Ann Schwader – Dark Energies (P’rea Press)
      Marge Simon – Naughty Ladies (Eldritch Press)
      Stephanie M. Wytovich – An Exorcism of Angels (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

The ceremony also included the presentation of awards to previously announced recipients.

    Lifetime Achievement Award – Alan Moore & George A. Romero

    Silver Hammer Award – Michael Knost

    Specialty Press Award – Borderlands Press

    Mentor of the Year Award – Tim Waggoner

    Richard Laymon President’s Award – Patrick Freivald & Andrew Wolter

The presentation of the Bram Stoker Awards® took place during the inaugural StokerCon in Las Vegas, Nevada on the evening of Saturday, May 14, 2016.

Named in honor of the author of the seminal horror novel “Dracula,” the Bram Stoker Awards® are presented annually for superior writing in eleven categories including traditional fiction of various lengths, poetry, screenplays and non-fiction. Previous winners include Stephen King, J.K. Rowling, George R. R. Martin, Joyce Carol Oates and Neil Gaiman.


Comments are closed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial