Horror Writers Association
Email us.
Slasher TV
HWA on Instagram
Visit Us
Follow Me

HWA 2014 Specialty Press Award Goes to ChiZine


CZP_logo_BIG_black-300x131HWA 2014 Specialty Press Award Goes to ChiZine

The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy, today announced the recipient for the association’s 2014 Specialty Press Award. ChiZine Publications, founded and run by Brett Alexander Savory and Sandra Kasturi, will be presented with the award on May 9 during the Bram Stoker Awards® Banquet in Atlanta, Georgia, as part of the World Horror Convention.

The annual Specialty Press Award recognizes a publisher outside the mainstream New York City publishing community that specializes in dark-themed fiction. Winners are typically “small presses” specializing in limited editions, small print runs, or the work of new and relatively unknown authors. The winner of the award is determined by a majority vote of the HWA Board.

“Among the many small presses publishing dark fiction, ChiZine Publications stood out this year with its list of impressive releases and continued dedication to the horror genre,” said Marge Simon, HWA’s Board of Trustees Chairperson.

ChiZine Publications (CZP) sprang out of the successful chizine.com, which began presenting fiction and review in 1997. Since its inception in 2008, CZP has published more than 90 books by authors including Christopher Golden, Stephen Graham Jones, Gemma Files, Tim Lebbon, Nancy Baker, Tom Piccirilli, Helen Marshall, Michael Rowe, Geoff Ryman, Robert Shearman, Melanie Tem and Steve Rasnic Tem. Their philosophy is “to startle, to astound, to share the bliss of good writing with our readership.” For more information about ChiZine, please visit www.ChiZinePub.com.

For more information on the Horror Writers Association and the Specialty Press Award (including a complete list of previous winners), please visit www.horror.org. For more on the Bram Stoker Awards presentation and the World Horror Convention, go to www.whc2015.org.


About the Horror Writers Association

The Horror Writers Association is a worldwide organization promoting dark literature and its creators. It has over 1,300 members who write, edit and publish professionally in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, games, films, comics, and other media. The HWA formed in 1985 with the help of many of the field’s greats, including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe Lansdale.


Media Contacts:

Communications Coordinator: Doug Murano, doug.murano@gmail.com

Asst. Communications Coordinator: Tom Calen, tom@tomcalen.com


Past Recipients

The following publishers have received the HWA Specialty Press Award:

2013 – Gray Friar Press, Gary Fry
2012 – Centipede Press, Jerad Walters
2011 – Bad Moon Books, Roy Robbins, and Hippocampus Press, Derrick Hussey
2010 – Dark Regions Press, Joe Morey
2009 – Tartarus Press, Ray Russell & Rosalie Parker
2008 – Bloodletting Press, Larry Roberts
2006 – PS Publishing, Peter Crowther
2005 – Necessary Evil Press, Don Koish
2004 – Delirium Books, Shane Ryan Staley
2003 – Earthling Publications, Paul Miller
2002 – Night Shade Books, Jason Williams & Jeremy Lassen
2000 – Subterranean Press, William K. Schafer
1999 – Ash-Tree Press, Christopher & Barbara Roden
1998 – Gauntlet Publications, Barry Hoffman
1997 – Cemetery Dance, Richard Chizmar

Comments are closed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial