Horror Writers Association
Email us.
Slasher TV
HWA on Instagram
Visit Us
Follow Me

2020 Bram Stoker Awards® Winners Announced


The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy, announced this year’s Bram Stoker Awards® winners at a virtual ceremony during StokerCon™ 2021.

“This year’s winners reflect a deep range of works from a competitive field,” said John Palisano, HWA President. “The winners and finalists truly represent a broad spectrum of titles in horror and dark fantasy. HWA members and awards juries have shown dedication and objectivity to the selection process for outstanding works of literature, cinema, non-fiction, and poetry.”

We proudly provide the list of talented winners along with the finalist nominees.

To see the recipients of the other awards presented at the ceremony, visit The Bram Stoker Awards®.

The 2020 Bram Stoker Awards® Results

    Superior Achievement in a Novel

    • WINNER: Jones, Stephen Graham – The Only Good Indians (Gallery/Saga Press)
    • Katsu, Alma – The Deep (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)
    • Keisling, Todd – Devil’s Creek (Silver Shamrock Publishing)
    • Malerman, Josh – Malorie (Del Rey)
    • Moreno-Garcia, Silvia – Mexican Gothic (Del Rey; Jo Fletcher Books)
    Superior Achievement in a First Novel

    • WINNER: Knight, EV – The Fourth Whore (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
    • Hall, Polly – The Taxidermist’s Lover (CamCat Publishing, LLC)
    • Harrison, Rachel – The Return (Berkley)
    • Jeffery, Ross – Tome (The Writing Collective)
    • Reed Petty, Kate – True Story (Viking; riverrun)
    Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

    • WINNER: Holder, Nancy (author), Di Francia, Chiara (artist), and Woo, Amelia (artist) – Mary Shelley Presents (Kymera Press)
    • Archer, Steven (author/artist) – The Masque of the Red Death (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
    • Brody, Jennifer (author) and Rivera, Jules (artist) – Spectre Deep 6 (Turner)
    • Douek, Rich (author) and Cormack, Alex (artist) – Road of Bones (IDW Publishing)
    • Manzetti, Alessandro (author) and Cardoselli, Stefano (artist/author) – Her Life Matters: (Or Brooklyn Frankenstein) (Independent Legions Publishing)
    • Niles, Steve (author), Simeone, Salvatore (author), and Kudranski, Szymon (artist) – Lonesome Days, Savage Nights (TKO Studios)
    Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

    • WINNER: Cesare, Adam – Clown in a Cornfield (HarperTeen)
    • Kraus, Daniel – Bent Heavens (Henry Holt and Company/Macmillan)
    • Snyman, Monique – The Bone Carver (Vesuvian Books)
    • Thomas, Aiden – Cemetery Boys (Swoon Reads/Macmillan)
    • Waters, Erica – Ghost Wood Song (HarperTeen)
    Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

    • WINNER: Jones, Stephen Graham – Night of the Mannequins (Tor.com)
    • Iglesias, Gabino – Beyond the Reef (Lullabies for Suffering: Tales of Addiction Horror) (Wicked Run Press)
    • Kiste, Gwendolyn – The Invention of Ghosts (Nightscape Press)
    • Landry, Jess – I Will Find You, Even in the Dark (Dim Shores Presents Volume 1) (Dim Shores)
    • Pinsker, Sarah – Two Truths and a Lie (Tor.com)
    Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

    • WINNER: Malerman, Josh – “One Last Transformation” (Miscreations: Gods, Monstrosities & Other Horrors) (Written Backwards)
    • Arcuri, Meghan – “Am I Missing the Sunlight?” (Borderlands 7) (Borderlands Press)
    • Fawver, Kurt – “Introduction to the Horror Story, Day 1” (Nightmare Magazine Nov. 2020 (Issue 98))
    • O’Quinn, Cindy – “The Thing I Found Along a Dirt Patch Road” (Shotgun Honey Presents Volume 4: Recoil) (Down and Out Books)
    • Ward, Kyla Lee – “Should Fire Remember the Fuel?” (Oz is Burning) (B Cubed Press)
    Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

    • WINNER: Murray, Lee – Grotesque: Monster Stories (Things in the Well)
    • Koja, Kathe – Velocities: Stories (Meerkat Press)
    • Langan, John – Children of the Fang and Other Genealogies (Word Horde)
    • Lillie, Patricia – The Cuckoo Girls (Trepidatio Publishing)
    • Taborska, Anna – Bloody Britain (Shadow Publishing)
    Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

    • WINNER: Whannell, Leigh – The Invisible Man (Universal Pictures, Blumhouse Productions, Goalpost Pictures, Nervous Tick Productions)
    • Amaris, Scarlett and Stanley, Richard – Color Out of Space (SpectreVision)
    • Green, Misha – Lovecraft Country, Season 1, Episode 1: “Sundown” (Affeme, Monkeypaw Productions, Bad Robot Productions, Warner Bros. Television Studios)
    • Green, Misha and Ofordire, Ihuoma – Lovecraft Country, Season 1, Episode 8: “Jig-a-Bobo” (Affeme, Monkeypaw Productions, Bad Robot Productions, Warner Bros. Television Studios)
    • LaManna, Angela – The Haunting of Bly Manor, Season 1, Episode 5: “The Altar of the Dead” (Intrepid Pictures, Amblin Television, Paramount Television Studios)
    Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

    • WINNER: Sng, Christina – A Collection of Dreamscapes (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
    • Manzetti, Alessandro – Whitechapel Rhapsody: Dark Poems (Independent Legions Publishing)
    • McHugh, Jessica – A Complex Accident of Life (Apokrupha)
    • Pelayo, Cynthia – Into the Forest and All the Way Through (Burial Day Books)
    • Tantlinger, Sara – Cradleland of Parasites (Rooster Republic Press)
    Superior Achievement in an Anthology

    • WINNER: Murray, Lee and Flynn, Geneve – Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women (Omnium Gatherum Media)
    • Bailey, Michael and Murano, Doug – Miscreations: Gods, Monstrosities & Other Horrors (Written Backwards)
    • Kolesnik, Samantha – Worst Laid Plans: An Anthology of Vacation Horror (Grindhouse Press)
    • Tantlinger, Sara – Not All Monsters: A Strangehouse Anthology by Women of Horror (Rooster Republic Press)
    • Yardley, Mercedes M. – Arterial Bloom (Crystal Lake Publishing)
    Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

    • WINNER: Waggoner, Tim – Writing in the Dark (Guide Dog Books/Raw Dog Screaming Press)
    • Florence, Kelly and Hafdahl, Meg – The Science of Women in Horror: The Special Effects, Stunts, and True Stories Behind Your Favorite Fright Films (Skyhorse)
    • Heller-Nicholas, Alexandra – 1000 Women in Horror (BearManor Media)
    • Keene, Brian – End of the Road (Cemetery Dance Publications)
    • Peirse, Alison – Women Make Horror: Filmmaking, Feminism, Genre (Rutgers University Press)
    • Wetmore, Jr. Kevin J. – The Streaming of Hill House: Essays on the Haunting Netflix Adaption (McFarland)
    Superior Achievement in Short Non-Fiction

    • WINNER: Waggoner, Tim – “Speaking of Horror” (The Writer)
    • Jackson Joseph, Rhonda – “The Beloved Haunting of Hill House: An Examination of Monstrous Motherhood” (The Streaming of Hill House: Essays on the Haunting Netflix Adaptation) (McFarland)
    • Pelayo, Cynthia – “I Need to Believe” (Southwest Review Volume 105.3)
    • Robinson, Kelly – “Lost, Found, and Finally Unbound: The Strange History of the 1910 Edison Frankenstein” (Rue Morgue Magazine, June 2020)
    • Sng, Christina – “Final Girl: A Life in Horror” (Interstellar Flight Magazine, October 2020)

Our voting members voted on the Final Ballot (only Active and Lifetime Members in good standing are eligible to vote).

Comments are closed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial