Horror Writers Association
Email us.
Slasher TV
HWA on Instagram
Visit Us
Follow Me






SAN DIEGO, CA–The 2023 Bram Stoker Awards® took place on June 1, during the Annual Bram Stoker Awards® Banquet at StokerCon™ 2024. Winners received awards for superior achievement in the following categories:


Superior Achievement in an Anthology

Aquilone, James – Shakespeare Unleashed (Crystal Lake Publishing, Monstrous Books)

Golden, Christopher, and Keene, Brian – The Drive-In: Multiplex (Pandi Press)

Hawk, Shane and Van Alst, Jr., Theodore C. – Never Whistle at Night: An Indigenous Dark Fiction Anthology (Vintage)

Rowland, Rebecca – American Cannibal (Maenad Press)

(Winner) Peele, Jordan, and Adams, John Joseph–Out There Screaming (Random House) 


Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

Keisling, Todd – Cold, Black, & Infinite (Cemetery Dance)

Malerman, Josh – Spin A Black Yarn (Del Rey)

Nogle, Christi – The Best of Our Past, the Worst of Our Future (Flame Tree Press)

Read, Sarah – Root Rot & Other Grim Tales (Bad Hand Books)

(Winner) Files, Gemma–Blood from the Air (Grimscribe Press) 


Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Compton, Johnny – The Spite House (Tor Nightfire/Macmillan)

LaRocca, Eric – Everything the Darkness Eats (CLASH Books/Titan)

Leede, CJ – Maeve Fly (Tor Nightfire/Macmillan/Titan)

Rebelein, Sam – Edenville (William Morrow/Titan)

(Winner) Carmen, Christa–The Daughters of Block Island (Thomas & Mercer) 


Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

Bunn, Cullen (author) and Leomacs (artist) – Ghostlore, Vol. 1 (BOOM! Studios)

Cesare, Adam (author) and Stoll, David (artist) – Dead Mall (Dark Horse Comics)

Ito, Junji (author and artist) – Tombs (Viz Media)

Tanabe, Gou (author and artist) – H.P. Lovecraft’s The Shadow Over Innsmouth (Dark Horse Comics)

(Winner) Chu, Amy (author) and Lee, Soo (artist)–Carmilla: The First Vampire (Dark Horse)


Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

Due, Tananarive – “Rumpus Room” (The Wishing Pool and Other Stories, Akashic Books)

Khaw, Cassandra – The Salt Grows Heavy (Tor Nightfire/Macmillan/Titan)

McCarthy, J.A.W. – Sleep Alone (Off Limits Press LLC)

Murray, Lee – Despatches (PS Publishing)

(Winner) Jiang, Ai–Linghun (Dark Matter INK) 


Superior Achievement in Long Nonfiction

Coleman, Robin R. Means and Harris, Mark H. – The Black Guy Dies First: Black Horror Cinema from Fodder to Oscar (Gallery/Saga Press)

Fitzpatrick, Claire (ed.) – A Vindication of Monsters: Essays on Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley (IFWG Publishing International)

Morton, Lisa – The Art of the Zombie Movie (Applause Books)

Murray, Lee and Smith, Angela Yuriko (eds.) – Unquiet Spirits: Essays by Asian Women in Horror (Black Spot Books)

(Winner) Hartmann, Sadie–101 Horror Books to Read Before You’re Murdered (Page Street Publishing) 


Superior Achievement in a Middle Grade Novel

Henning, Sarah – Monster Camp (Margaret K. McElderry Books)

López, Diana – Los Monstruos: Felice and the Wailing Woman (Kokila)

Tuma, Refe – Frances and the Werewolves of the Black Forest (HarperCollins)

Young, Suzanne – What Stays Buried (HarperCollins)

(Winner) Senf, Lora–The Nighthouse Keeper (Atheneum Books for Young Readers)


Superior Achievement in a Novel

Hendrix, Grady – How to Sell a Haunted House (Berkley/Titan)

Jones, Stephen Graham – Don’t Fear the Reaper (Gallery/Saga Press/Titan)

LaValle, Victor – Lone Women (One World)

Tingle, Chuck – Camp Damascus (Tor Nightfire/MacMillan/Titan)

Wendig, Chuck – Black River Orchard (Del Rey/Penguin Random House)

(Winner) Due, Tananarive–The Reformatory (Gallery/Saga Press/Titan) 


Superior Achievement in Poetry

Gold, Maxwell Ian – Bleeding Rainbows and Other Broken Spectrums (Hex Publishers)

McHugh, Jessica – The Quiet Ways I Destroy You (Apokrupha Press)

Pichette, Marisca – Rivers in Your Skin, Sirens in Your Hair (Android Press)

Walrath, Holly Lyn – Numinous Stones (Aqueduct Press)

(Winner) Wytovich, Stephanie M.–On the Subject of Blackberries (Raw Dog Screaming Press) 


Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

Brooker, Charlie – Black Mirror: Beyond the Sea (Episode 03:06) (Zeppotron, Babieka, Banijay Entertainment, Broke and Bones, House of Tomorrow)

Cervera, Michelle Garza and Castillo, Abia – Huesera: The Bone Woman (Disruptiva Films, Machete Producciones, Maligno Gorehouse)

Duffield, Brian – No One Will Save You (20th Century Studios, Star Thrower Entertainment)

Rugna, Demián – When Evil Lurks (Machaco Films, Aramos Cine, Shudder)

(Winner) Yamazaki, Takashi–Godzilla Minus One (Robot Communications, Toho Studios) 


Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

Daniels, L.E. – “Silk” (Hush, Don’t Wake the Monster: Stories Inspired by Stephen King, Twisted Wing Productions)

Jones, Rachael K. – “Sound of Children Screaming” (Nightmare Magazine)

Miller, Sam J. – “If Someone You Love Has Become a Vurdalak” (The Dark)

Tabing, Nadine Aurora – “An Inherited Taste” (No Trouble at All, Cursed Morsels Press)

(Winner) O’Quinn, Cindy–“Quondam” (The Nightmare Never Ends, Exploding Head Fiction) 


Superior Achievement in Short Non-Fiction

Bissett, Carina – “Words Wielded by Women” (Apex Magazine)

Kulski, K.P. – “100 Livers” (Unquiet Spirits: Essays by Asian Women in Horror, Black Spot Books)

Murray, Lee – “Displaced Spirits” (Unquiet Spirits: Essays by Asian Women in Horror, Black Spot Books)

Wetmore Jr, Kevin – “A Theatre of Ghosts, A Haunted Cinema: The Japanese Gothic as Theatrical Tradition in Gurozuka” (The Wenshan Review of Literature and Culture: Special Issue on Asian Gothic)

(Winner) Bulkin, Nadia–“Becoming Ungovernable: Latah, Amok, and Disorder in Indonesia,” (Unquiet Spirits: Essays by Asian Women in Horror, Black Spot Books) 


Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

Bayron, Kalynn – You’re Not Supposed to Die Tonight (Bloomsbury YA)

Dimaline, Cherie – Funeral Songs for Dying Girls (Tundra Book Group)

Simmons, Kristen – Find Him Where You Left Him Dead (Tor Teen)

Smith, Cynthia Leitich – Harvest House (Candlewick Press)

(Winner) Tran, Trang Thanh–She Is a Haunting (Bloomsbury YA) 



Thunderstorm Books



Brian W. Matthews



Lila Denning



Lisa Wood



Mort Castle

Cassandra Peterson.

Steve Rasnic Tem


Next year’s StokerCon™ will take place June 12-15 in  Stamford, Connecticut.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial