Horror Writers Association Blog

Tag archive: 2011 Archives - Horror Writers Association Blog [ 2 ]

2011 Bram Stoker Award™ winners and Vampire Novel of the Century Award winner

2011 Bram Stoker Award™ winners and Vampire Novel of the Century Award winner

stokertrophy250At long last, the anticipation is over. The Horror Writers Association announced the winners of the 2011 Bram Stoker Awards™ at its annual awards banquet tonight. This year’s presentation was held in Salt Lake City, Utah, at the World Horror Convention, and marks the 25th Anniversary of the awards.

Twelve new bronze haunted-house statuettes were handed over to the writers responsible for creating superior works of horror last year. This year’s winners are:

    Superior Achievement in a NOVEL
    Flesh Eaters by Joe McKinney (Pinnacle Books)

    Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL
    Isis Unbound by Allyson Bird (Dark Regions Press)


HWA 2011 Specialty Press Award Goes to Bad Moon Books and Hippocampus Press

Bad Moon Books, of Garden Grove, California, and Hippocampus Press of New York, New York will both receive the Horror Writers Association’s Specialty Press Award for 2011. The Award will be presented during the gala Bram Stoker Awards™ Banquet to be held this year in Salt Lake City on March 31.

The annual Specialty Press Award recognizes a publisher outside the mainstream New York City publishing community that specializes in dark-themed fiction. Winners are typically “small presses” specializing in limited editions, small print runs, or the work of new and relatively unknown authors. The winner of the award is …

Get a few quick bites from the HWA
(delivered straight to your inbox):

Receive regular updates on our members' new releases, event announcements so you can meet your current and future Horror idols, and much more, just for Horror fans.

(Non-members are especially tasty welcome!)

Close Box

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial