Horror Writers Association
Email us.
Slasher TV
HWA on Instagram
Visit Us
Follow Me

James Chambers to receive The Richard Laymon President’s Award from Horror Writers Association


Photo by Melanie Chambers

Photo by Melanie Chambers

The Richard Laymon President’s Award for Service was instituted in 2000 and is named in honor of Richard Laymon, who died in 2000 while serving as the Horror Writer’s Association’s President. As its name implies, it is given by the HWA’s sitting President. The Award is presented to a volunteer who has served HWA in an especially exemplary manner and has shown extraordinary dedication to the organization.

HWA’s President Rocky Wood has chosen James Chambers to receive the 2012 Richard Laymon Award. “Jim stepped up a couple of years ago to Chair the Membership Committee. Since then he has completely revamped the Committee, bringing in and documenting processes, training people to assist, overviewing our Outreach program and welcoming hundreds of new members. In addition he conceived of and implemented the Halloween Haunts blog program, which has become a staple of our public blog each October,” Wood said. “It is contributors like Jim who represent all that is good about HWA’s all-volunteer structure.”

James will receive the Award at the Bram Stoker Awards® Banquet in New Orleans on 15 June 2013.

The Horror Writers Association is a worldwide organization promoting dark literature and its creators. It has nearly 1000 members who write, edit and publish professionally in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, games, films, comics, and other media.

For more information about the HWA or the Bram Stoker Awards, please visit www.horror.org. More information on the Bram Stoker Awards Banquet, which is part of the Bram Stoker Awards Weekend, incorporating the World Horror Convention 2013 is available at http://www.stokers2013.org. Press inquiries to president@horror.org.

James Chambers’ tales of horror, crime, fantasy and science fiction have been published in numerous anthologies and magazines. Dark Regions Press published his collection of four Lovecraftian-inspired novellas, The Engines of Sacrifice in 2011. Publisher’s Weekly described it as “chillingly evocative.” Most recently, Dark Quest Books has published his zombie novellas, The Dead Bear Witness and Tears of Blood, the first two volumes in the Corpse Fauna novella series. Chambers is also the author of the short story collections Resurrection House and The Midnight Hour: Saint Lawn Hill and Other Tales with illustrator Jason Whitley. His stories have appeared in Allen K’s Inhuman, Bare Bone, Deep Cuts, The Green Hornet Chronicles, Hardboiled Cthulhu, Walrus Tales, and many other anthologies and magazines. He has also written numerous comic books, including Leonard Nimoy’s Primortals, the critically acclaimed “The Revenant” in Shadow House, and The Midnight Hour. His website is: www.jameschambersonline.com.

Comments are closed.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial