Horror Writers Association



Visit the official scholarship site for up-to-date information.

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) is pleased to announce the 2016 recipients of its five scholarships. Carina Bissett and Karen Bovenmyer have been awarded (respectively) the HWA Scholarship and the Mary Shelley Scholarship, each worth $2,500. John Reinhart has been chosen for the Dark Poetry Scholarship ($1,250), and James Anderson and Kevin Wetmore have been chosen as recipients of the Rocky Wood Memorial Scholarship Fund for Non-fiction Writing. Earlier this year, Sumiko Saulson was awarded The Scholarship From Hell, which included travel, accommodation, and a slate of educational workshops at HWA’s inaugural StokerCon (TM) held in Las Vegas, Nevada.

“We believe these recipients represent the future of the horror genre, and we’re very proud to be able to assist them in reaching their educational and professional goals,” said Lisa Morton, HWA President. “We’d also like to thank the Authors Coalition for giving us the financial ability to set up these scholarships, and the Aeroflex Foundation for helping to fund the Rocky Wood Scholarship.”

Applicants to the scholarships were required to submit educational plans and/or essays, which were evaluated by committees. This year marks the third year that HWA has provided scholarships. The scholarships will re-open to applicants in early 2017.

For more information on HWA’s scholarships, please visit http://www.horrorscholarships.com . Complete biographies of the 2016 winners may be found at http://horrorscholarships.com/former-recipients/ .

Comments are closed.

Get a few quick bites from the HWA
(delivered straight to your inbox):

Receive regular updates on our members' new releases, event announcements so you can meet your current and future Horror idols, and much more, just for Horror fans.

(Non-members are especially tasty welcome!)

Close Box

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial