Horror Writers Association Blog

The Lifetime Achievement Award


Former HWA Vice-president Robert Weinberg presents the 1995 Lifetime Achievement Award to Harlan Ellison

THE LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD is presented periodically to an individual whose work has substantially influenced the horror genre. While this award is often presented to a writer, it may also be given for influential accomplishments in other creative fields. The award is presented each year during HWA’s gala presentation of the Bram Stoker Awards.

About the Award

WHO MAY RECEIVE THE AWARD? To be eligible for this award, a candidate must either be at least sixty years of age by May 1 of the year of the award’s presentation or must have first produced professional work in the field of Horror at least thirty-five years prior to May 1 of the year of the award’s presentation. All recipients must be alive at the time the President is informed of the committee’s choice.

HOW ARE RECIPIENTS CHOSEN? The Lifetime Achievement Award is the most prestigious of all awards presented by HWA. It does not merely honor the superior achievement embodied in a single work. Instead, it is an acknowledgment of superior achievement in an entire career. So, to prevent unseemly competition and to prevent the impression that there are any losers in this category, the L.A.A. is the only award that is not decided by a vote of the entire Active membership.

Instead, at the beginning of each year, HWA’s President appoints a Lifetime Achievement Awards Committee consisting of five Active HWA members from diverse geographical areas, and whose writing represents the varied types of dark fantasy/ horror/ and occult fiction. This committee considers recommendations submitted by HWA’s membership at large, though they are not obliged to pick an award recipient from among the recommendations.

MULTIPLE RECIPIENTS. The committee may, at its discretion, bestow up to three Lifetime Achievement Awards in a single year, though only if they are in unanimous agreement that more than one Award is appropriate that year.

For a complete list of recipients over the years, visit TheBramStokerAwards.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get a few quick bites from the HWA
(delivered straight to your inbox):

Receive regular updates on our members' new releases, event announcements so you can meet your current and future Horror idols, and much more, just for Horror fans.

(Non-members are especially tasty welcome!)

Close Box

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
Visit Us