Horror Writers Association Blog

Final Frame Film Competition Judges Announced




Short Horror Film Competition Judged by Z NATION’s Craig Engler


Providence, RI, November 3, 2017

The Horror Writers Association announces its third annual short film competition. On March 2, 2018, Final Frame will be held in conjunction with StokerCon 2018® at the fabled Biltmore Hotel in Providence, Rhode Island. The Final Frame film competition will celebrate the best in short horror films from around the globe. Everyone is encouraged to enter the competition.

Selected films will be screened in the Garden Room of the Biltmore Hotel. A grand prize winner will be announced at the film competition’s cocktail reception once the screening is complete. The Final Frame Award will be presented to one film and one filmmaker as decided by a panel of industry judges, including writer/producer Craig Engler (Z NATION), author Grady Hendrix (Paperbacks From Hell, My Best Friend’s Exorcism), writer/editor Michael Gingold (Fangoria, Rue Morgue), filmmaker Lynne Hansen (Chomp), and noted FX specialist Mike McCarty (KNB, Autonomous FX).

Submissions remain open until January 15th, 2018. All entries should run 13 minutes or less. Film entries cannot already be available to the public online or otherwise. Grand prize is $1,000 and additional prizes will be announced prior to the competition. Entry fee is $15 (USD) until Dec. 15th. After that date, the entry fee is $25 (USD) from Dec. 16, 2017 – Jan. 15, 2018.

Finalists will be notified by January 30, 2018.  To enter, please go to https://filmfreeway.com/FinalFrame and hit “Submit Now.”


For More Information Contact:

John W. Dennehy, Communications Director

Horror Writers Association




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial