Horror Writers Association Blog

Posts byadmin, Author at Horror Writers Association Blog [ 633 ]

Horror University Schedule

The Horror Writers Association brings one of the most popular aspects of StokerCon online!

Horror University, the HWA’s program of interactive writing workshops and presentations, is launching in an all-new format with live, online workshops with some of the strongest voices in horror. Formerly only accessible in-person at StokerCon, this series of classes, designed to help writers hone their craft and advance their career, will now be available year-round and accessible to anyone with access to the Internet. Past StokerCon attendees have provided wonderful feedback about their experiences in Horror University—but the HWA realizes not all horror writers can attend …

Call for Ads for the StokerCon Denver Souvenir Anthology

StokerCon 2021 Denver is coming in May 2021 and now is the time to get your ad in for the souvenir book. Edited by Josh Viola of Hex Publishers, an award-winning local Denver press, the souvenir anthology is sure to be an instant collector’s item. The anthology will include exclusive new fiction from some of the area’s most notable authors in addition to a unique table of contents overflowing with new non-fiction exploring the history of Denver’s robust literary scene. Of course, there will also be summaries of the HWA’s year and many programs. This anthology souvenir book will only …

HWA’s Next Anthology Call for Submissions

Other Fears – An Anthology of Diverse Terrors

Submissions open on October 1, 2020.

HWA is proud to announce our next anthology:

Other Fears will be an anthology of original stories revolving around a recurring theme that often comes up in both critical analysis of the horror genre and discussions about the prejudices and biases people have against minority groups that manifest in myriad phobias: the idea of “otherness.”

A fairly universal truth across oppressed, victimized, or historically underrepresented groups is that they have come to signify “otherness.” Be they of a different culture, a different background, a different belief …

HWA Presents: Don’t Turn Out the Lights

The HWA is pleased to announce the release of its newest publication, Don’t Turn Out the Lights, a middle-grade anthology edited by Jonathan Maberry and published by Harper Collins. The book debuted 9/1 in hardcover, eBook, and audio.

Don’t Turn Out the Lights is a tribute to Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and features 35 stories from such talents as R.L. Stine, Madeleine Roux, and many members of the Horror Writers Association. Illustrations by Iris Compiet.

Watch interviews with the contributors:

HWA Scholarship Winners Announced

The HWA congratulates the winners of the 2020 scholarships:


Matthew Andrew is a retired U.S. Marine who served multiple tours in support of combat operations in Afghanistan and the Balkans. He currently works in the finance sector in Dallas, Texas. His short fiction can be found in Pantheon Magazine, Blight Digest, PMMP‘s Lost Signals anthology, and Thuglit, among others.


Abril Altamirano is a cultural journalist and horror writer from Quito, Ecuador. Her work has been published in Ecuadorian printed media such as Diario La Hora, Casapalabras, and MundoDiners

SALE! Special Ad Rate Extended for the HWA Newsletter

SALE! Special Ad Rate Extended for the HWA Newsletter

The HWA Newsletter is offering a special rate on full-page ads for the rest of 2020! All issues are jam-packed with lots of goodies (columns, special articles, puzzles, photos, artwork, poems), so you don’t want to miss out on advertising in it!

Full Page Ad 650px wide by any height – only $25! The ad deadline for this sale is December 31, 2020.

Order yours today!

New HWA Diversity Grants

The HWA is pleased to announce a new aspect to our scholarship program: the Diversity Grants.

The Diversity Grants will be open to underrepresented, diverse people who have an interest in the horror writing genre, including, but not limited to writers, editors, reviewers, and library workers. Like the Diverse Works Inclusion Committee, the Diversity Grants have adopted the broadest definition of the word diversity to include, but not limited to, gender, gender identity, race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, disabled, and neurodiverse.

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) believes barriers—often unseen but very real—exist which limit the amount of horror fiction being published …

2020 Officer Election Results

The results of the 2020 Elections for officers are in!

  • Linda Addison, James Chambers, and Ellen Datlow have been re-elected to the Board of Trustees.
  • Becky Spratford has been re-elected as Secretary after running unopposed.
  • John Palisano has been re-elected as President after running unopposed.

Thank you to all of the candidates for running, and for your loyalty and service.

Special thank you to Errin Kemper for running this year’s election committee, and to Angel Leigh McCoy for both setting up the voting and doing the compiling.…

Webinar: Group Health Coverage Overview

Please join us for this informative and educational webinar in which we will review the basics of the Individual/Family and even Group coverage options offered to the Horror Writers Association members through the partnership with LIG Solutions. You will be surprised to learn what options you have today for not only major medical but a full suite of health coverage solutions.

Wed, Aug 19, 2020 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM PDT

Registration link: https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/7603586209073069326

2020 Officer Candidate Statements

2020 is an election year for the HWA, with Trustee Positions, Secretary, and President up for a vote. Candidate statements are below. Active Voting members will receive a ballot on or before August 1, 2020. The deadline to vote is 11:59PM Pacific Time, on August 15th, 2020.

Thank you all,
The HWA Election Committee

(Click on the image below, then page through the candidates.)…

HWA Partners With LIG Solutions to Provide Members Health Insurance Options

On June 10, the Book Industry Health Insurance Partnership (BIHIP), a coalition of ten organizations, including the Horror Writers Association, announced a partnership with Lighthouse Insurance Group (LIG) Solutions to provide its members with a choice of health insurance options. Joining HWA in this partnership are the American Booksellers Group, American Society for Indexing, Authors Guild, Book Industry Study Group, Graphic Artists Guild, Independent Book Publishers Association, Novelists Inc., Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and Western Writers of America Inc.

Since April 2018, BIHIP has been vetting various companies for association-sponsored health insurance programs. Initially, the goal of …

Get a few quick bites from the HWA
(delivered straight to your inbox):

Receive regular updates on our members' new releases, event announcements so you can meet your current and future Horror idols, and much more, just for Horror fans.

(Non-members are especially tasty welcome!)

Close Box

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
Visit Us
Follow Me